Monday, 8 June 2009

02-Jun to 08-Jun

- Sibling group of 3 from 'N': awaiting the full paperwork and outcome of a sibling assessment to identify if they should remain together or be split up.
- Sibling group of 3 from 'L': we have read their paperwork and there are some great common features between them and us, like family names and so on. They are definitely of interest to us. We are waiting for the social worker to let our s/w know if they have read our paperwork and are interested in us.
- We are also awaiting contact from social workers regarding:
  • Two from 'Nr'
  • Three from 'H'
  • Two from 'Le'
- We have an appointment to see our social worker tomorrow (Thursday) to discuss two others. All we know so far is their names, they are a sister and brother and their case is so complex we have to read their information at our social worker's office so that there is support available to us.

Work update:
- We thought
you might like updates on our work situation, and how this process is affecting it.
- Mary has spent her entire working life in the Finance and Risk industry, only to be made redundant just as we were starting our adoption journey - perfect timing in some ways but not in others! She decided to change her career completely and, bearing in mind she had little childcare experience, chose to work part time in her local primary school as Special Educational Needs Teaching Assistant and Lunchtime Supervisor on a one year contract. When the contract was up we went to panel and, believing matching to a sibling group was on the horizon, decided to work casually, so as to not have to start a permanent job only to give it up a short time later.
- Mary
is still working casually at her local primary school as a Breakfast Club / Afterschool Club Playworker, Lunchtime Supervisor, Teaching Assistant and Treasurer for the Afterschool Club Committee. She doesn't do all that every day though, she still manages to work part time! She is seriously considering that permanent role, as the adoption wheels are grinding so slowly.
- The course that Mary is studying will help increase her salary in some of those roles and will give her more flexibility and choice in the future
- Mungo is working full time in a permanent IT managerial job and has been in his current role for over a year. His company, and indeed the MD, are very supportive of our plans and we feel they will be so when he needs to take time off during introductions and settling in. The company is based nearby and is flexible in its approach to home working and time off for meetings and so on
- The course thatMungo is studying will provide him with more opportunities for roles inside and out of the company and provide a secure furture for him, mary and our long awaited Midges!

Home and garden:

- Mary has had to sack the 5th cleaner, as she just wasn't cleaning anything!
- Cupboard safety catches for kitchen; to be attached when we are matched and before introductions.

- We will be looking to purchase a nearly new car when we are matched with children. Mungo's car is to stay with us, as we can put car seats in the back when we take the children out separately.

- Mary: Childcare, Learning and Development, NVQ Level 3 - Received a B in her 4th assignment, has nearly completed her 5th (of 10)
- Mary: passed her NVQ 2 in basic Food Hygeine - a requirement of working in an afterschool club environment
- Mungo: T175 (Networked Living) - 4th assignment submitted, score was 82% and his final assignment (ECA - End of Course Assessment) was submitted on the 21st May
- Mungo: M255 (Java Programming) - first assignment submitted, score was 79% and his second assignment is due for submission on 4th June.